Jazz Party

Great new Jazz section up at the store in Cloud 8 Records. Some of our favorites.

Top Left: Soul Brothers, Milt Jackson & Ray Charles. Atlantic, 1958.  Some wear.

Bottom Left: Water Babies, Miles Davis. Columbia, 1976. Promo copy, great condition.

Top Right: The New Orleans Nightingale, La Vergne Smith. Savoy, 1949.  Good condition.

Bottom Right: The World of Duke Ellington. Columbia, 1974. Promo copy. Good condition. 20131116-122715.jpg

Crimson Testure Symposium

A Young Person’s Guide to King Crimson is a compilation, 2LP set, released in 1976.  The songs were selected by and quoted as “personal favorites” of Robert Fripp.  The cover is in good shape and both LP’s are in excellent condition.

Notable Tracks:

  • “Epitaph”
  • “I talk to the Wind”
  • “Moonchild”
  • “The Court of the Crimson King”20130311-124413.jpg

Released in 1988 on the full length album,  VIVIsectVI, “Testure” received  a 12″ single release on red vinyl shortly after its controversial music video release.  The name is said to be a combination of “testing” and “torture” as its lyrics demonize government animal testing, with graphic images shown in the music video.  Side B includes the tracks “The Second Opinion” and “Serpents”.  Cover and vinyl are both in great condition.20130311-124421.jpg

In spite of the title, this album does NOT contain any poetry.  Melvin Stewart does provide narration in “Scenes from the city”, however there is no other spoken word on the album.  Those who enjoy Mingus’ Mingus Ah Um album will recognize “Slippers” as it forms the basis of “Open Letter to Duke”.  This copy is sealed.


  • Jimmy Knepper – Trombone
  • Shafi Hadi – Tenor and Alto Sax
  • Bill Hardman – Trumpet
  • Clarence Shaw – Trumpet
  • Dannie Richmond – Drums
  • Horace Parlan – Piano
  • Bob Hammer – Piano


Midnight Meat Puppets Stage

Stage, released in 1978 on RCA, was Bowie’s second live album. A culmination of live performances recorded in Philadelphia, Boston, and Providence, it mostly includes material from his three previous albums: Station to Station, Low, and Heroes (and for nostalgia’s sake, five select songs from The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars). Direct instrument and microphone feeds made for a high fidelity recording and an almost perfect emulation of studio quality, with crowd noise at a minimum. This import European pressing is rare in Blue Vinyl as most were translucent yellow. 


A departure from their self-titled debut album, consisting mostly of grunge and harsh vocals, Meat Puppets II is an eclectic collection of songs covering many genres from country, rock, slow acoustic, hard rock, and the occasional psychedelic guitar effect. Released in 1984 on SST Records, this is an epic record with legendary songs like “Lake of Fire”, “Oh, me”, and “New Gods”. In April 1984, Rolling Stone’s Kurt Loder gave the release a raving review, saying it was “one of the funniest and most enjoyable albums of the year……this band has developed beyond thrash music to become a kind of cultural trash compacter”. This original pressing is in great condition. 



One of the greatest jazz albums of all time, ‘Round About Midnight is a landmark album in “hard bop.” Released in 1955, it was Davis’ debut album with Columbia Records. Taking its name from the Thelonius Monk song, “Round Midnight,” (Track 1, Side A) this album marks Miles Davis’ come back after a long struggle with heroin addiction. This sealed, deluxe import repress from 2009 is mint and priced to sell.