Crimson Testure Symposium

A Young Person’s Guide to King Crimson is a compilation, 2LP set, released in 1976.  The songs were selected by and quoted as “personal favorites” of Robert Fripp.  The cover is in good shape and both LP’s are in excellent condition.

Notable Tracks:

  • “Epitaph”
  • “I talk to the Wind”
  • “Moonchild”
  • “The Court of the Crimson King”20130311-124413.jpg

Released in 1988 on the full length album,  VIVIsectVI, “Testure” received  a 12″ single release on red vinyl shortly after its controversial music video release.  The name is said to be a combination of “testing” and “torture” as its lyrics demonize government animal testing, with graphic images shown in the music video.  Side B includes the tracks “The Second Opinion” and “Serpents”.  Cover and vinyl are both in great condition.20130311-124421.jpg

In spite of the title, this album does NOT contain any poetry.  Melvin Stewart does provide narration in “Scenes from the city”, however there is no other spoken word on the album.  Those who enjoy Mingus’ Mingus Ah Um album will recognize “Slippers” as it forms the basis of “Open Letter to Duke”.  This copy is sealed.


  • Jimmy Knepper – Trombone
  • Shafi Hadi – Tenor and Alto Sax
  • Bill Hardman – Trumpet
  • Clarence Shaw – Trumpet
  • Dannie Richmond – Drums
  • Horace Parlan – Piano
  • Bob Hammer – Piano